.

Why Councilwoman Rhonda Reardon has a TRUST issue and SHOULD not seek re-election!

One of the reasons Mission Viejo voters should NOT re-elect Councilwoman RHONDA REARDON appears to be crystal clear: INCOMPETENCE! Please view the video segment from the 02/17/2014 MV City Council Meeting agenda item # 20 regarding accountability of the ITF tennis tournament when the MV City Council under the leadership of former mayor Rhonda Reardon approved a budget $ 55,000 to host the tournament and the final cost was over 1/4 Million Dollars @ an additional $ 100,000 of our hard earned tax payers dollars. (approximate time frame on the video 04:15:01 to 04:20:55) What is even more interesting or disturbing is that during an earlier agenda item # 14 for the Pavion Park Rehab (CIP 303) Reardon makes a in-depth reference to her "grandchildren" and the park. (approximate time frame on the video 02:33:25 to 02:39:45). The real problem with that statement is that RHONDA REARDON has NO children NOR grandchildren. There are many other areas of serious concern and here is just one more example: Rhonda Reardon (who is up for re-election in November) along w/ councilmembers Ury & Leckness apparently passed three (3) actions to change the Mission Viejo Housing Authority (“MVHA”) policy which enabled the applicants to qualify to purchase apartments at the “The Ridge” Development which includes taxpayer-subsidized “low income” units. If that is the case then why shall Mission Viejo voters TRUST RHONDA REARDON to represent them 4 more years? Please view attached link for reference:http://missionviejo.granicus.com/MediaPlayer.php?view_id=12&clip_id=1296
Dan Avery March 25, 2014 at 12:12 PM
In 2005 the restoom that was installed at Malinda park cost the city $400,000 to build. Maintenance is another issue. It's been repainted countless times due to graffiti...you know Nazi symbols, genitals, crude sayings about some people's sexual proclivity. All the sorts of stuff we want our children to read and view. Now these bimbos want to build several of these dens across the city. Prices have risen so let's be conservative...a half million a piece. These people are screaming for you to bankrupt our city. Plus they want to give child molesters a place to hide. Not surprising since most of them use to hang out at Art Pedroza's blog and defended his blind link to the North American Man Boy Love Association. Don't fall for it. If they can't walk home to use their own bathrooms they don't belong in the park in the first place.
apricot March 25, 2014 at 01:55 PM
Why did Reardon lash out at ordinary residents who presented evidence and commentary on March 17, 2014 on the lack of restrooms in the parks beats me? Why is she calling them angry and full of vitriol? Instead of showing leadership, her lack of competence was self- evident, especially in the area of the school restrooms near the parks. Positions of Ury and Leckness on the matter raised even more questions about the lack of common sense about the lack of restrooms in the city’s 50 parks. While there are many others , perhaps here is one reason why Mission Viejo’s citizens and residents are angry: since the city’s new dog park “La Paws” had an estimated price tag of 7 (seven) million dollars, and a place for the animals to s****t , the people have to go into the bushes in the parks like animals. At the price of 300 K per a new restroom ,as Leckness indicated how many of them can be built for $ 7M ? Didn’t Ury say that there is plenty money and he can place all of them in 2 weeks? It's all about competence , priority and common sense isn't it? After all there are plenty of visitors out of town each and every weekend for the sporting events hosted at the parks, that are in need of a restroom and one must ask where are they going when in need?
Dan Avery March 25, 2014 at 04:26 PM
"Why is she calling them angry and full of vitriol?" My guess would be because those particular residents are angry and full of vitriol among some other less refined things. Would you like me to name them all for you?
Dan Avery March 25, 2014 at 04:35 PM
oh wait, I get it. You're upset that Council Member Reardon won't just vote the way Brad and Larry tell her, like John Paul Ladesma did. Right?
Josephina March 25, 2014 at 07:38 PM
Clearly, Reardon & her friends doubled down on stupidity. There are lots of residents angry about the restrooms. Just visit: http://missionviejo.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/restrooms-needed-at-parks#comment-41395505 and many other blogs on this issue. Our council has lost touch with its residents. They are more interested in their developer friends projects or their own pet projects around the town. Reardon telling us about her non-existent grandchildren that she is taking around city parks to use of school restrooms on weekends is simply a bad joke in bad taste. These restrooms are closed to the public. Apparently these guys just have no shame! Resident Jim Strausbaugh said it well on one of the posts, and so did others. It's time to take our city back in November. Vote these guys out of office!
Dan Avery March 26, 2014 at 12:23 PM
Yes and, it's quite clear, you are not full of Vitriol. (Mr. Avery rolls his eyes and then picks some lint off his trousers.) Why not just admit that Ms. Reardon and, actually, all but two of the folks Integrity in Government helped to elect, had far more integrity than everyone in your group. And THAT is why she, and they, turned their backs on your malarkey.
Desi Kiss March 29, 2014 at 01:37 AM
@ 9:09 PM there was a 5.1 EQ w/ the epicenter in La Habra. Some damages reported even in Mission Viejo (broken glass). Is Mission Viejo and the City Council prepared for a 7.0 or larger EQ?
Josephina March 30, 2014 at 11:57 AM
Probably NOT. This earthquake was small , perhaps just a sign for more quakes to come. Apparently they care more about developers, overbuilding, their own interests and pet projects, phony stories about non-existing grandchildren, restrooms in the parks and a very expensive dog park, tennis courts and tournaments at the expense of taxpayers, a failed city sponsored farmers market, instead of fixing the roads, bridges and the city’s aging infrastructure. Only the Lord can save us from a 7.0 or greater earthquake.
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 12:05 PM
Josephina March 30, 2014 at 11:57 AM Only the Lord can save us from a 7.0 or greater earthquake. ___________________________________________________ Why would this Lord not prevent the earthquake in the first place then? Why would he cause it (sorry, allow it to happen) and then save us? Sounds like a dumb set of things to do for a supposedly wise dude. ___________________________________________________ Besides, if only this Lord can save us, then are you saying that the city council is doing a smart thing by not wasting any money on it?
Amy S March 30, 2014 at 12:34 PM
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 12:05 PM "Why would he cause it (sorry, allow it to happen) and then save us?" - Maybe SHE was in a bad mood that day? :)
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 01:08 PM
My bad, Amy. You're right, of course. :-) A thousand apologies.
Desi Kiss March 30, 2014 at 01:22 PM
For those interested in the CC biz & EQs here is my 2 cents on the subject: Mission Viejo is located in an area of high seismic activity in the vicinity of the Newport- Inglewood fault that poses greatest hazard to life and property. It is believed by scientists that the fault is capable of generating a maximum credible 7.5 magnitude earthquake. Because of the degree of City urbanization and proximity to a major fault, the risk of structural damage and loss of life due to ground shaking is considerable. In addition 4 other seismic faults are in the proximity of MV: Whittier, Puente Hills, Inferred and the Elsinore fault. I was wondering if the City has a “plan” to deal with such events, since it appears that the City council does not have a “clear” understanding of what public safety really means and their EQ documentation is OBSOLETE and needs updating. The last time I reviewed it during the SONGS debate I sent my comments and suggestions to the City, and as usual they simply IGNORED them due to lack of competence and understanding of the subject. I’m not expecting Reardon, Schlicht, Ury, Kelley & Leckness to be EQ scientists, however they MUST be ABLE to use their common sense with regards to this matter: Our City’s aging infrastructure is prone to failure during and EQ and the estimated loss of life may be considerable. Frankly, the Puente Hills fault is not even included in the City of Mission Viejo documentation related to EQs for a simple reason. The City does not have a qualified staff to review and update the existing documentation as required by law. The Puente Hills fault was discovered in 1999 and 5 years earlier a 6.7 EQ (Northridge) hit another “invisible” fault, completely underground that scientists didn’t know about. According to estimates by the USGS & SOCAL EQ Center a massive EQ on the Puente Hills fault could kill from 3,000 to 18,000 people and cause $ 250 billion in damage. Under this worst-case scenario, people in as many of ¾ million households would be left homeless. One must wonder what is more important in Mission Viejo restrooms in the parks or EQ retrofitting and/or strengthening our aging infrastructure? Have a nice weekend!
Eileen G. March 30, 2014 at 01:35 PM
10 years ago I saw first hand a situation room in city hall specifically for a disaster. At that time the city had a pretty good plan set up. Can't believe they got rid of it.
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 01:35 PM
That is illuminating, Mr. Kiss. Can you please share the specifics of your proposals, including approximate costs and the time it'd take to secure us against a 7.5 earthquake. Can we do it in, say, two to four years, with $200 million or so, and how would you fund it after the reserves are sucked up.
Josephina March 30, 2014 at 01:48 PM
Why do I smell an Eileen G., Amy S & Antoine conspiracy? LOL "10 years ago" is a very long time Eileen G! We do not live in the past, we rather should look to the future!
Desi Kiss March 30, 2014 at 02:23 PM
Mr. Kamath you have a valid point. Forgive me 4 being brief but I must attend a prior commitment: I'm refereeing a game in this afternoon at one of the parks that has NO restroom nor has the neighboring school its restrooms open to the public. So I must say though luck. :) But here is my opinion on your Q: One must wonder why the Math and Science Building is the 2nd priority to the SOCCD Board of Trustees ? Did you know that the Board puts as its top priority on its football Stadium at Saddleback College. What is more important, education and the classroom safety during an earthquake or a football stadium? Perhaps Tod Burnett should give us some additional information on this matter. Now as far as the City is concerned: Didn't the former mayor Reardon say that the City has $ 25 million in "reserve" and last year the City had $ 1 million surplus? Why keep $26 million in reserve and NOT spending it wisely on EQ retrofitting our aging infrastructure? Certainly 2-4 years is a realistic time frame. For example as a top priority our bridges columns may be strengthened w/ carbon reinforced fabric just to give you one example and that is well spent money in my book. There is a lot more to it and perhaps we can revisit the subject at a latter date.
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 02:29 PM
Josephina March 30, 2014 at 01:48 PM Why do I smell an Eileen G., Amy S & Antoine conspiracy? ___________________________________________________ I suspect because they are out to get every last one of us. Wait, who's Antoine?
Shripathi Kamath March 30, 2014 at 02:35 PM
Mr. Kiss, careful with any suggestion that involves any spending of the reserves. That's the kind of talk that gets you harpooned 'round these parts.
Dan Avery April 01, 2014 at 01:06 PM
Shri, you're being played. "Forgive me 4 being brief but I must attend a prior commitment" is straight out of Larry Gilbert's playbook. Think back to when you read The Orange Juice Blog. You're a smart boy, and you'll soon figure out that Larry is writing most of what spews forth from Desi and Julia.
Eileen G. April 01, 2014 at 06:47 PM
I'm not out to get anyone. But nice try. I'm just tired the bullying lies that people think they can get away with.
Patti Bout April 02, 2014 at 01:08 AM
re park bathrooms: raised 2 kids in MV who were both involved in sports. bathrooms, or lack of, never really seemed to be an issue for us or for anyone. what has happened in the last 5 yrs I've been out of the youth sport scene that bathrooms, or lack of, are causing such a bruhaha??
Dan Avery April 02, 2014 at 12:52 PM
Patti, they started to abuse Maxiflow.
Dan Avery April 02, 2014 at 12:54 PM
Patt, excellent use of "bruhaha." Been forever since I've seen that word tossed out into the fray.
Rob Turmer April 04, 2014 at 02:55 PM
If you recognize that word you must be over 50. That was a favorite choice of terms of both my grandparents. Which means they have grandchildren for I am speaking about them. An idea that Ms. Reardon is unable to grasp.
Desi Kiss April 04, 2014 at 10:43 PM
The statement made by Dan Avery is simply FALSE. My thoughts are my own, and nobody writes on my behalf. Moreover, I don’t know, nor I have ever met w/ Larry Gilbert whoever Mr. Gilbert may be.
Shripathi Kamath April 04, 2014 at 10:58 PM
Penny Arévalo (Editor) April 04, 2014 at 10:52 PM checking in ______________________________________________________ When did you check out?
Penny Arévalo (Editor) April 04, 2014 at 11:02 PM
Never checked in. I don't get every comment that shows up on my Patches emailed to me, only those that I post or on which I comment. winky emoticon
Shripathi Kamath April 04, 2014 at 11:34 PM
Tyranny!
Dan Avery April 05, 2014 at 12:02 PM
Desi, I didn't say he wrote your pulp, but it's interesting you deny it. Reread what I actually wrote please. (Mr. Avery straightens his left sock and mumbles something about "some people.") By way, declaring a statement "simply FALSE" is also straight out of Larry Gilbert's playbook. Simply amazing how two separate writers could use the exact same phrases and tactics.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something