Outstanding Students Win Elks Scholarships

Find out who the big winners were.

The local recently gave out $4,000 in scholarships to Mission Viejo's outstanding students, as well as savings bonds and certificates. Some of the students are heading to such top schools as UCLA, Stanford and Harvard.

Mission Viejo Mayor Pro Tempore was there to honor the outstanding students, too.

Here are the top scholarship winners:

  • Daniel J. Havert, Lake Forest, El Toro High School
  • Ramin Talebi, Mission Viejo, Capistrano High School
  • Joshua D. Grossman, Aliso Viejo, Aliso Niguel High School
  • Kaitlin T. Propeck, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita Catholic High School
  • Kayla M. White, Laguna Niguel, Dana Hills High School

John Dellos also recognized a sixth student, Karli M. Thompson, Rancho Santa Margarita, Trabuco Hills High School, who was awarded an $800 scholarship at the state level competition.

"I was astonished by the tremendous academic and community service accomplishments of the foregoing student scholars," Dellos said. "It is not surprising that have been accepted at such prestigious universities as UCLA, Stanford, Harvard and other nationally recognized universities."

Here's more about other awards won from Elks publicist Hal Mattson:

American Essay Awards

The Americanism Essay awards were presented by Past Exalted Ruler (“PER”) Charlie Hart. Brandon Lassalle of Mission Viejo, La Paz Intermediate, and a member of the Elks Lodge sponsored Boy Scout Troop 603, won the local, district and state competition for his inspiring Americanism Essay on “Why I Am Proud to Pledge Allegiance to Our Flag.”

He will read his essay during a session of the California-Hawaii Elks Association (“CHEA”) convention in San Diego (May 16-19, 2012).

He received a combined total of $400 from the Elks Lodge, the Orange Coast District and CHEA. His essay is also now competing for the national award. State Level Americanism Awards were also presented to Andrea Arrese, Natalie Tenton, Valentina Green and Kam Look.

Girl Scouts

The Girl Scout Silver and Gold (highest award in Girl Scouts) Awards were presented to the Girl Scouts from all troops in South Orange County respectively by Liz Smith, Advisor to Troop 6058, and Leeora Beck, Advisor form Troop 261. Some girls are not associated with a specific troop and are designated as Girl Scout Independent (“GSI”) as members of Girl Scouts USA.

Silver Awards: Taska Peterson, Donna Kamaiki, Arianna Smith and Sarah Fuhrman.

Gold Awards: Tiffany Hamilton GSI (El Toro HS), Hailey Herbers Troop 325 (Capistrano HS), Jessie Klinger Troop 325 (Capistrano HS), Allison Monahan Troop 261 (San Juan Hills HS), Tricia Pryer Troop 325 (Capistrano HS) and Maryssa Spires GSI (Mission Viejo HS).

The Boy Scout Troop 603 members who received their Eagle Scout awards in March, Tyler Rolstad and Geoffrey Churchill were also recognized by the Elks and their Troop Leader, Jeff Smith.

Don't Forget the Hoops

Hoop Shoot awards were presented by District Hoop Shoot Chairman and PER Pat Martino. Local youth that won First Place in the local and District level competition (District 10 Elks Hoop Shoot event) were Scott Young, Carson Haskell and Connor Haskell in the 8-9, 10-11,12-13 age divisions. Also recognized for the local competition were Kevin Trippy, Brady Brooks, Morgan Smith and Megan Quintilone.

The Elks Lodge Youth Night recognition program is during the its national Youth Week. The cities of Mission Viejo and Laguna Hills presented the Elks Lodge with proclamations recognizing their dedication to America’s youth and its Youth Week.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »